Friday, December 23



• 90 °F (Fahrenheit) = 32.2 °C (Celsius)
• Body Temperature‎: ‎98.6 °F
• Zero‎: ‎0 °F

Thursday, December 22

Monday, December 19

Friday, December 9

Monday, December 5

bull & charge

charge bull

Jumble Spelling #9 (9-1: ch)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #13 (13-4: ch)

Jumble Spelling #16 (16-1: ar)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #19 (19-1: ar)

Tuesday, November 29


snowflakes snow flakes

Snowflakes (A Traditional Song)
Oh where do you come from,
You little flakes of snow?
Falling, falling, softly falling,
On the earth below.

Saturday, November 26

The Art of War & information security

By discovering the enemy's dispositions and remaining invisible ourselves, we can keep our forces concentrated, while the enemy's must be divided.
— Sun Tzu (544–496 BC)

The Art of War information security

Tuesday, November 22

pardon a turkey

Thanksgiving White House pardon turkey

Jumble Spelling #11 (11-6: ey)

• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large)
#22 (22-6: ey) = long /e/
#18 (18-6: ey) = long /a/

Thursday, October 20

Saturday, October 15

tallest buildings

library libraries story stories tallest buildings

[superlative] The suffix -est means "the most".
Jumble Spelling #20 (20-2: est)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #26 (26-1: est)

Saturday, October 1

Monday, September 12

Wednesday, August 17

raisin & date

raisin date

long a sound: ai
Jumble Spelling #13 (13-1: ai)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #11 (11-1: ai)

Friday, August 12

Wednesday, August 10

Sunday, August 7

Friday, August 5

Thursday, August 4

in the middle of water

island in the middle of water t

Jumble Spelling #1 (1-3: dd)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #1 (1-3: dd)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #20 (20-6: le)

Friday, July 29


Hollywood compound words holly wood

Hollywood = holly + wood

Compound words: everyone, worldwide, downtown, sidewalk, backyard, upstairs, underground*, raindrop, sunshine, daydream, longtime, overdue*, overwork*, overgrow*, outrun, haircut, earthquake, cupcake, seafood, chopstick, lipstick, earring, grandmother, handwritten, bluebird

Jumble Spelling
#25 (25-2: over)
#25 (25-6: under)
#25 (25-4: super)

Saturday, July 16

Friday, July 8

Saturday, June 18

Bed in Summer

Bed in Summer (by Robert Louis Stevenson, 1850 – 1894)

In winter I get up at night
And dress by yellow candlelight.
In summer, quite the other way,
I have to go to bed by day.

I have to go to bed and see
The birds still hopping on the tree,
Or hear the grown-up people's feet
Still going past me in the street.

And does it not seem hard to you,
When all the sky is clear and blue,
And I should like so much to play,
To have to go to bed by day?

summer poem kids

Wednesday, May 11

Harry Potter

It matters not what someone is born, but what they grow to be.
— J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Harry Potter

Saturday, May 7

precious stones

Precious Stones (by Christina Georgina Rossetti, 1830 – 1894)

An emerald is as green as grass,
A ruby red as blood,
A sapphire shines as blue as heaven,
But a flint lies in the mud.

A diamond is a brilliant stone
To catch the world's desire,
An opal holds a rainbow light,
But a flint holds fire.

precious stones

Thursday, May 5


Butterflies (by Moritake, a 16th century Shinto priest)

Fallen petals rise
back to the branch—I watch:
oh ... butterflies!

butterfly, ElephantCube Jumble ABC
butterfly, ABC Fun Cards (large format)

Sunday, May 1

Sunday, March 20


Spring in New Hampshire (by Claude McKay, 1889 - 1948)

Too green the springing April grass,
Too blue the silver-speckled sky,
For me to linger here, alas,
While happy winds go laughing by,
Wasting the golden hours indoors,
Washing windows and scrubbing floors.

Too wonderful the April night,
Too faintly sweet the first May flowers,
The stars too gloriously bright,
For me to spend the evening hours,
When fields are fresh and streams are leaping,
Wearied, exhausted, dully sleeping.

spring poem

Saturday, March 19

Tuesday, March 15

Where was the dog?

lights dark

igh = long /i/ (silent gh)
Jumble Spelling #13 (13-6: igh)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #11 (11-6: igh)

Saturday, March 12

Sunday, March 6


king crown dentist

Jumble Spelling #7 (7-2: cr)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #5 (5-2: cr)

Jumble Spelling #14 (14-6: ow)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #20 (20-4: ow)

Thursday, March 3

bee & honey (long e sound)

bee flower honey

Jumble Spelling #13 (13-4: ee)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #11 (11-4: ee)

Jumble Spelling #11 (11-6: ey)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #22 (22-6: ey)

Thursday, February 11


• Love is the joy of the good, the wonder of the wise, the amazement of the gods. — Plato

• The best and most beautiful things in the world cannot be seen nor even touched but just felt in the heart. — Helen Keller

• Love is like a butterfly. It goes wherever it pleases, and it pleases wherever it goes. — Unknown

love conquers all

Wednesday, February 10