Sunday, December 27

learn

learn learning teachers students

Jumble Spelling #13 (13-3: ea)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #11 (11-3: ea)

Jumble Spelling #9 (9-1: ch)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #13 (13-4: ch)

Friday, December 25

Thursday, December 24

Thursday, December 17

Past, Present, Future (A Christmas Carol)

Charles Dickens A Christmas Carol
I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach! - Charles Dickens A Christmas Carol

Past, Present, Future (tense)

Saturday, December 12

Christmas songs

Angels We Have Heard on High

Auld Lang Syne

Away in a Manger

Here We Come A-Caroling

Saturday, December 5

Friday, December 4

snowmen and snowflakes ❄

snowmen snowman snowflakes cornflakes

Jumble Spelling #6 (6-3: fl)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #4 (4-3: fl)

a_e: long a sound
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #22 (22-1: a_e)

Saturday, November 28

nose / knows (homophone)

knows nose homophone

kn = /n/ (silent k)
Jumble Spelling #8 (8-4: kn)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #2 (2-6: kn)

o_e: long o sound
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #22 (22-4: o_e)

Saturday, November 21

Thanksgiving: giving thanks

Thank someone:
“Thank the moon, thank the sun.
Most of all, thank someone.
Thank the stars high above,
One for everyone you love.”

thanksgiving thanks
Giving thanks every day

Wednesday, November 18

Thanksgiving and turkeys

Turkeys are not thankful.
thanksgiving turkey turkeys
thanksgiving turkey gobble

The Little Girl and the Turkey (by Dorothy Aldis)

The little girl said
As she asked for more:
"But what is the Turkey
Thankful for?"

Point of View (by Shel Silverstein)

Thanksgiving dinner's sad and thankless
Christmas dinner's dark and blue
When you stop and try to see it
From the turkey's point of view.

Sunday dinner isn't sunny
Easter feasts are just bad luck
When you see it from the viewpoint
Of a chicken or a duck.

Oh how I once loved tuna salad
Pork and lobsters, lamb chops too
Till I stopped and looked at dinner
From the dinner's point of view.

Jumble Spelling #16 (16-5: ur)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #19 (19-5: ur)

Jumble Spelling #11 (11-6: ey)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #22 (22-6: ey)

Peanuts comic strip (1)
Peanuts comic strip (2)
Peanuts comic strip (3)
Peanuts comic strip (4)

Saturday, November 14

Wednesday, November 11

fair & square

fair and square

* “air” and “are” sound the same
Jumble Spelling #18 (18-1: air; 18-2: are)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #21 (21-1: air; 21-2: are)

Sunday, November 8

Saturday, November 7

Friday, November 6

Sunday, November 1

Saturday, October 17

Monday, October 12

need candy

We wish you a scary Halloween!
i need candy halloween candies

The plural form of candy is candies.
y > -ies
Words ending in -y preceded by a consonant: change the y to i, and add "es".

Jumble Spelling #19 (19-1: es)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #9 (9-6: es)

Sunday, October 11

I love you more than candy

Halloween

The plural form of candy is candies.
y > -ies
Words ending in -y preceded by a consonant: change the y to i, and add "es".

Jumble Spelling #19 (19-1: es)
• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #9 (9-6: es)

Saturday, October 10

Thursday, October 8

pumpkin

Halloween pumpkin pump

(Eye Health) Pumpkins and carrots are rich in lutein and zeaxanthin pigments.
pumpkin
pumpkin
big pumpkins
small pumpkins
pumpkin jack be little

Saturday, October 3

dead end

dead end Halloween

• ea makes a "long e" sound: read
• sometimes ea makes a "short e" sound: dead

Friday, September 25

hole & whole

doughnut donut hole whole homophone

The words "hole" and "whole" are homophones.

• ABC Fun Cards (small) (large) #22 (22-4: o_e)

Jumble Spelling #21 (21-5: ough)

Sunday, September 13

Sunday, September 6

Saturday, September 5

Friday, August 28